Mixes : Christmas 2006: Phat and funky mix

 Monday, January 1st 2007, 1:00 am
Mix details
Mixed: December 2006
Length: 00:42:31
File size: 39.0 MB
Download this file.

To finish off this series of Christmas mini-mixes I decided to mix a few of my favourite funky tunes from the past few months. Kicking off the mix we have a funky little number from the Jaxx called “Hush Boy”. The Soul Seekerz have transformed it from a downbeat tune into a funky house number which rocked many of my funky floors last year. We then move onto a mysterious reggae house tune called “Why?” by Lucky 7. I still haven’t found out who did this tune but I’m guessing it’s one of the big house producers of the moment and they couldn’t clear the samples! It’s a funky little number in the same vein as Olav Basoski‘s “Waterman” and it rocks!

We’ve then got the classic cut-up disco tune “Everytime” by Sexy Toy on the Italian label Oryx Music. It takes me back to the original cut-up disco house revolution that happened during the mid 90s. There’s not enough cut-up disco any more but that’s probably because most of the obvious samples have been used already! Moving on we’ve got the excellent Dirty Old Ann with “Turn Me On”. It’s another remake of the Kathy Brown classic but yet again used to good effect in this funky version.

I’ve then dropped a very cheeky tune by Manchester’s Mint Royale. They’ve sampled “Wham Rap” by Wham and made it into a cheeky piano driven breakbeat tune. This one works well with the party crowds and I love playing it out when I can. We then head off to Seamus Haji‘s cheeky bootleg remix of Tweet‘s “Boogie Tonight” (but now with a re-recorded vocal and known as Bootie Luv). This was a massive track for me a few years ago when I played the DB Boulevard Club Mix. This hard to get hold of remix from Seamus Haji was originally on promos back in 2003 but it was finally re-released as a “new” remix on Hed Kandi a few months ago. It’s a massive track and ends a great year of production and remixing for Mr. Haji.

The final tune on the mix comes from Hed Kandi again and they’ve just released this chunky tune from Tyken called “Every Word”. This remix isn’t as dirty as the original but it has a great synth breakdown and it rocks any dancefloor. Look out for more great tunes from the Hed Kandi guys in the new year.

So that’s it. The last of the Christmas mini-mixes. I hope you’ve enjoyed them all and I look forward to doing plenty more in 2007.


  1. Basement Jaxx – Hush Boy (Soul Seekerz Mix) – XL Recordings
  2. Lucky 7 – Why – Simply Recordings
  3. Sexy Toy – Everytime (Original Mix) – Oryx Music
  4. Dirty Old Ann – Turn Me On (Full Vocal Club Mix) – Loaded Records
  5. Mint Royale – Whambar (12″ Version) – Direction Records
  6. Booty Luv – Boogie 2Night (Seamus Haji Big Love Remix) – Hed Kandi
  7. Tyken – Every Word (Triple Dee Rebuild) – Hed Kandi

Links to this post

9 comments about this post

  1. My favourite mini mix i think. That basement Jaxx remix is hot!

  2. Thanks Daniel! Yeah, I love that Basement Jaxx track too.

  3. finally worked out how to get these fansastic mixes onto my ipod!! lovit lovit lovit.
    You are the best

  4. Fantastic news Natalie!
    I’ve had a few people mention that they can’t download them properly so I’m going to try and find a way to make it easier for everyone.

  5. They downloaded as files my ipod wouldn’t handle, but I converted them in itunes to ACC files- under the advance tab and then they went across fine.

  6. make that AAC files…

  7. They’re normal MP3 files so they should be fine. They have embedded images in them so maybe that’s a problem but they play fine on my 30GB iPod. Strange!

  8. Dj Cruze….

    Excellent Mix… wassup from Canada!!!!!

  9. Thanks Justin! I’m glad that Canada is in the house!